University of Mauritius


  • Council


    Statutory Provisions in the University Statutes 2013 with respect to Council Meetings

    Minutes of Proceedings (Open Area) - Intranet Access Only



    List of Council Members -As per Section 20 (1) of the University of Mauritius Statutes 2013
    (As at February 2018)

    The Pro-Chancellor as Chairperson

    Mr Preeaduth Chitamun, CSK

    The Vice-Chancellor Professor Dhanjay Jhurry

    The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academia)

    Professor S K Sobhee

    The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources)

    Associate Professor M I Santally

    The Chief of Facilities and Services

    Mr H Goolap

    A Dean of Faculty to serve by rotation for six months

    Professor (Dr) L A Carpooran, OSK

    An elected representative of the academic staff of the University

    Mr M R Bunwaree

    An elected representative of the non-academic staff of the University

    Mr M I Sookhroo

    An elected representative of the Students of the University

    Mr J L Seewooruttun

    Such other members not exceeding 9, 3 of whom shall be from the Public Sector, nominated by the Prime Minister from among persons who have been recommended to him by the appropriate professional bodies or institutions and who have distinguished themselves in the fields of education, agriculture, the arts, government, science and technology, business and the professions

    • Mrs R Audit

    • Mr T Chumroo
    • Dr A Dookun-Saumtally
    • Mrs J Sooben

    • Mr M Karimbocus
    • Mr G M D Lising
    • Mrs R D Meetoo
    • (Vacant)
    • (Vacant)


    Council Secretary


    In Attendance

    Mrs U V Rajkumarsingh, Administrative Manager

feed-image Follow