CHAPTER 16

THE STUDENTS' UNION

The Students' Union, established in 1971, is the official organisation of the students of the University. It is run for students by the students under its own constitution and is the centre of student non-academic activities.

The two main functions of the Union are:

- (i) to act as the representative body in all matters concerning the students; and
- (ii) to promote and provide for the welfare and the social, cultural and educational activities of the students.

All students whether enrolled on a full-time or part-time basis are members of the Union. A Students' Welfare Fund is payable at registration. The revenue of the Union also includes a grant from the University.

The Executive Committee of the Union is made up of four office-bearers elected from among the students and one elected representative from each of the six Faculties and the Centre for Innovative and Lifelong Learning (CILL). The office-bearers are elected by all registered students of the University whereas the Faculty's/ Centre's representatives are elected by students of each Faculty/ Centre. The administrative business and all other activities take place at the Students' Centre.

The Union is empowered to recognise and finance students' societies dealing with recreational activities as well as those that deal with academic subjects and those that cover topics of concern to the students.

It has its own web page (http://sites.uom.ac.mu/studentsunion/), facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/uomsu/) and a radio campus through which it communicates with the student community.

The University has a close relationship with the Students' Union and seeks wherever possible, to involve the Students' Union in its decision making processes, thus providing them with direct knowledge of and influence on the development of policies and procedures relating to teaching and learning and their welfare.

Student involvement is achieved at a number of levels. Students are represented at different University Committees namely the Court, Council, Senate, Teaching and Research Committee, the Discipline Committees, Appeals Committee, Student Academic Progress and Complaints Committee, Needy Students Committee, Faculty/ Centre Boards, Programme Boards of Studies, Library, Sports, Safety and Health, Website and UoM Catering Services Supervisory Committee.