COVID - 19 : Communiqué from the UoM

UoM Covid-19 Workplace Preparedness Plan 
(Restricted to UoM Staff and Students)


Statutory Provisions in the University Statutes 2013 with respect to Council Meetings



List of Council Members - As per Section 20 (1) of the University of Mauritius Statutes 2013
(As at March 2019)

The Pro-Chancellor as Chairperson

Mr Preeaduth Chitamun, CSK

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Dhanjay Jhurry, CSK, GOSK

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academia)

Professor S K Sobhee

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources)

Associate Professor M I Santally

The Chief of Facilities and Services

Mr H Goolap

A Dean of Faculty to serve by rotation for six months

Professor A H Subratty

An elected representative of the academic staff of the University

Dr D Surroop

An elected representative of the non-academic staff of the University

Mr P P Boyjonauth

An elected representative of the Students of the University


Such other members not exceeding 9, 3 of whom shall be from the Public Sector, nominated by the Prime Minister from among persons who have been recommended to him by the appropriate professional bodies or institutions and who have distinguished themselves in the fields of education, agriculture, the arts, government, science and technology, business and the professions

  • Mrs R Audit

  • Mr T Chumroo
  • Dr (Mrs) A Dookun-Saumtally
  • Mr M Karimbocus
  • Mrs R D Meetoo
  • Dr B Ori
  • Mr A V Putchay
  • Mr S Ramen


Council Secretary


In Attendance

Miss M Naïdoo Soobrayen, Administrative Manager

Go to top