Sample module in position -righttop-



As per University Statute 19 (1) of the University of Mauritius

Statute 19 (1)
Current Membership

The Chancellor – Chairperson

Dr Louis Jean Claude Autrey, CSK

The Pro-Chancellor

Mr Preeaduth Chitamun, CSK
The Vice-Chancellor Professor Dhanjay Jhurry, CSK, GOSK

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academia)

Professor Sanjeev Sobhee

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources)

Associate Professor Mohammad Issack Santally

The Chief of Facilities and Services

Mr Heerun Goolap
The Deans of Faculties

Faculty of Agriculture

Associate Professor Daneshwar Puchooa

Faculty of Engineering

Associate Professor Dinesh Hurreeram
Faculty of Information, Communication and Digital Technologies Associate Professor Sunilduth Baichoo 

Faculty of Law & Management

Associate Professor (Dr) Geetanee Napal

Faculty of Science

Associate Professor (Dr) Suress Bhagwant

Faculty of Social Studies & Humanities

Professor Louis Arnaud Carpooran, OSK

The Minister overseeing Tertiary Education

The Hon (Mrs) Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun
Minister of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research

The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry overseeing Tertiary Education

Mr Geeandave Gukhool
Permanent Secretary

Ministry of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research

Two members of the National Assembly

(to be nominated by the Honourable Speaker)

Hon Vedasingam Baloomoody
Hon (Dr) Zouberr Houssein Issa Joomaye

One Benefactor of the University

(to be nominated by Council)

Mr Dean Ah-Chuen

Managing Director

ABC Motors Company Limited

One Person to represent Learned Societies

(to be nominated by Senate)

Mr Pierre de B Baissac


The Royal Society of Arts and Sciences of Mauritius

Three Persons to represent the Professions

(to be nominated by Council in consultation with Senate)

Since 1996, the 3 persons are:
- Chairman, Medical Council
- President, Bar Council
- President, Institution of Engineers Mauritius

Dr K K S Jagutpal
Medical Council of Mauritius

Mrs Narghis Bundhun, Senior Counsel


Bar Council
Mr Raj H Prayag
Institution of Engineers Mauritius

One Member of the University Convocation
(to be nominated by Convocation)

Vacant (Nomination sought )

One representative of the Tertiary Education Commission

The Executive Director
Tertiary Education Commission 

One Representative of the Mauritius Institute of Training and Development

Mr Pradeep K Joosery
Director MITD

One Representative of Local Government

(to be nominated by the Minister of Local Government)

Mr Georges Henry Jeanne
Permanent Secretary

One representative to be nominated by the Minister of Cooperatives

Mr Khamraz Hulloowan

Divisional Cooperative Officer

One representative of the Trade Unions

(to be nominated by the Minister of Labour and Industrial Relations)

Vacant (Nomination sought )

One representative of the Employers

(to be nominated by the Mauritius Employers’ Federation)

Mr Anwar Joonas

One representative from the Mauritius Export Association


One Rector to represent Secondary Schools

Vacant (Awaiting Nomination )

One representative of the Chamber of Agriculture

Mrs Jacqueline Sauzier
General Secretary

One representative of Chamber of Commerce

Mr Toriden Chellapermal
Chief Executive Officer
MCCI Business School

One representative nominated by the Association of Bankers

Mr Daniel Essoo
Chief Executive Officer
Mauritius Bankers Association Ltd

A representative of the Prime Minister’s Office

Mr Tamanah Appadu
Permanent Secretary

A representative of the Attorney-General

Miss S Gareeboo
Assistant Parliamentary Counsel

Five persons nominated by the Prime Minister from Business and Industry

Vacant (Awaiting nomination)
Vacant (Awaiting nomination)
Vacant (Awaiting nomination)
Vacant (Awaiting nomination)
Vacant (Awaiting nomination)

One representative of each of the registered Staff Unions of the University

Mr I Sookhroo
University of Mauritius Staff Union (USU)

Mr Jayendranat Dwarka
University of Mauritius Technicians Union

Dr Abdel Khoodaruth
Uniiversity of Mauritius Academic Staff Union

One representative of the Students’ Union of the University

Mr Yudhaveer Vaibhav Ramdoyal

President, Students’ Union

Secretary (Administrative Manager)

Mrs V S Jhugaroo




Go to top