As per University Statute 19 (1) of the University of Mauritius

STATUTE 19 (1)

The Chancellor – Chairperson

Dr J C L Autrey, CSK

The Pro-Chancellor

Mr P Chitamun, CSK
The Vice-Chancellor Professor S K Sobhee

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academia)

Professor (Dr) M I Santally

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Resources)

Associate Professor (Dr) D Surroop

The Chief of Facilities and Services

Mr H Goolap

The Deans of Faculty:

Faculty of Agriculture

Associate Professor D Puchooa

Faculty of Engineering

Associate Professor (Dr) Y B Surnam
Faculty of Information, Communication and Digital Technologies Professor K K Khedo

Faculty of Law & Management

Professor (Dr) B Seetanah
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Associate Professor (Dr) Mohamad Fawzi Mahomoodally

Faculty of Science

Associate Professor D Y Tangman

Faculty of Social Studies & Humanities

Professor L A Carpooran, OSK

The Minister overseeing Tertiary Education

The Honourable (Mrs) Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun, GCSK

Vice-Prime Minister and Minister of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology

The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry overseeing Tertiary Education

Mr Y Munbodh

Permanent Secretary
Minister of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology

Two Members of the National Assembly

The Honourable. (Ms) Teenah Jutton


The Honourable. Dhananjay Ramful


One Benefactor of the University

Benoit de Coriolis

Chief Human Resources Officer
Eclosia Group

One Person to represent Learned Societies

Me S.A Marie Thierry Vincent Koenig

The Mauritius Law Society

Three Persons to represent the Professions

Dr (Mrs) Y D Soopal-Lutchmun

Chairperson Medical Council

Mrs Priscilla Balgobin Bhoyrul

Bar Council

Mr R Prayag

Institution of Engineers Mauritius

One Member of the University Convocation

Mr Bhooyasheel Akshay Seedoyal

One Representative of the Higher Education Commission 

Professor R Mohee, CSK

The Commissioner

One Representative of the Mauritius Institute of Training and Development

Mr S Maudarbocus

Ag Director

One Representative of Local Government

Dr D Kawol

Acting Senior Chief Executive
Ministry of Local Government & Disaster Risk Management

One Representative to be nominated by the Minister of Cooperatives

Mrs G Beegoo

Acting Registrar of Cooperative Societies

One Representative of the Trade Unions

Mr Maheshwarsingh Baujeet

Government Teachers Union

One Representative of the Employers

Mr Kevin Ramkaloan

Chief Executive Officer
Business Mauritius

One Representative from the Mauritius Export Association


One Rector to represent Secondary Schools

Mr S Ramrup

Bel Air SSS

One Representative of the Chamber of Agriculture

Mrs Jacqueline Sauzier

General Secretary

One Representative of Chamber of Commerce

Mrs Fiona Hungley Quirin

Human Resource Manager
The Mauritius Chamber of Commerce and Industry

One Representative nominated by the Association of Bankers

Mr Daniel Essoo

Chief Executive Officer
Mauritius Bankers Association Ltd

A Representative of the Prime Minister’s Office

Mr Kechan Balgobin

Permanent Secretary
Prime Minister’s Office

A Representative of the Attorney-General

Mrs Priya Veedu Ramjeeawon Varma

Assistant Parliamentary Counsel

Five persons nominated by the Prime Minister from Business and Industry

Mr Harold Mayer

Director Ciel Group

Mr Avinash Gopee

Managing Director
N-G Group

Mr Ahmed Parkar

Star Knitwear Ltd

Mrs J Chan Ah Song

Managing Director
Astek Mauritius

Mr Dhiren Ponnusamy

Chief Executive Officer
Medine Group

One Representative from each of the registered Staff Unions of the University

Associate Professor (Dr) G K Beeharry

University of Mauritius Academic Staff Union

Mr M Beekaroo

University of Mauritius Technicians’ Union

Mr Thilagen Ramasawmy

University of Mauritius Staff Union

One Representative of the Students’ Union of the University

Mr Mohammad Ibrahim Numaan Duffaydar

President, UoM Students’ Union

Secretary , University Court

Miss Rita Parthyneviko

Administrative Manager



Log in